Sancti Spiritus, Cuba

Sancti Spíritus is a central Cuban province that conserves a genuine colonial entourage. It is bathed by the old Bahamas canal to the north, limited by the provinces of Villa Clara and Cienfuegos to the west, the province of Ciego de Avila to the east and the Ana Maria golf and Caribbean Sea to its south.

It was founded in 1514 by Diego Velazquez and originally located by the Tunucu River but later moved to the nearby areas of river Yayabo, some 6 to 8 km away from the original location. Sancti Spíritus has the privilege of hosting 2 of the first seven villages founded in the XVI century, the Villa del Espiritu Santo and the Villa de la Santísima Trinidad.

The province of Sancti Spíritus is well known as a region of important Cuban poets and writers including names like Fayad Jamís and Senel Paz among many others.

Main touristic infrastructure is formed by hotels, villas and bars, most of them located in Trinidad, the Ancón Peninsula and Topes de Collantes, all grouped as a separate destination in this website due to their importance.

This is a province to visit its old style streets and plazas, the mansions of the XVIII and XIX centuries, and to use as a starting point to visit the sugar cane valleys like the Valle de Los Ingenios, declared World Heritage by UNESCO, the beaches of the Ancón peninsula only some 12 kilometers away from the historic center, as well as Trinidad and the mountain ranges of the Escambray in the National Park of Topes de Collantes.

In the central region of the province you can also visit the Zaza dam, Cuba’s largest artificial lake and to the north, the Caguanes National Park , an UNESCO Biosphere reserve which treasures an important group of caves with many interesting archeological attractions.

Main attractions
Neighbor vacation spots *
Access by air
Access by road
Access by sea