This constitutes the foremost symbol of the city. It was built in 1825 shortly after the town of Sancti Spiritus was resettled to the margins of the river Yayabo. Its solid construction has allowed it to remain an important link route in the city’s traffic to this day, despite the fact that it wasn’t built to endure the weight of today’s vehicles.
Built basically of brick, sand and lime, it measures approximately 85 meters and rises to a height of 9 meters. The visitor’s attention is generally drawn to a structure consisting of 5 ample arcades gradually tapering as it nears the riverbanks.
Declared Monument National due to its patrimonial values.
Street Jesús Menéndez and 26 de Julio. Sancti Spíritus