The Castillo de Jagua Fortress or Castle of Our Lady of the Angels of Jagua, is located at the entrance to the Bay of Cienfuegos. It was built in 1733 with the aim of defending the Cuban south coast from possible British and pirate attacks. It was declared a National Monument in 1978.
In 1998 a museum was opened here. In addition to the constructive riches of the fortress, it has 8 exhibition rooms where data on the founding of the town is displayed. Among its rooms are: The weapons room showcasing artillery pieces used by the military in the 18th and 19th centuries, the torture room, the chapel of Nuestra Señora de los Ángeles de Jagua, the mural painting made in 1833 and the drawbridge, one of the main attractions of the castle.
It also has a guided tour service and varied cultural activities in addition to the El Pescador and Los Prada restaurants.